MadPea: The Lost Mine

The Lost Mine 1 (Mad City)
Mad City

In case you’re unfamiliar with the name, MadPea provides some of the most engaging and innovative events and hunts I’ve ever seen in Second Life. I’ve recently been lucky enough to join their blogger group and I’m looking forward to sharing with you some of my love for all things Pea!

Their current hunt is The Lost Mine and it’s a total delight to experience. As is usual for a MadPea production, this hunt is more of a game than the traditional pixel-searching most often associated with Second Life hunts; yes, you do need to look for certain objects but there are puzzles to solve and places to explore too. I found it to be challenging enough to be interesting without being so frustrating I was tearing my hair out.

To begin you need to purchase the HUD available in Mad City. This costs L$150 and includes a bag you need to wear in order to collect your items. This is the only purchase necessary to take part in the hunt and collect your prizes, of which there are more than 20 – you can read more about these later in this post.

There are three main stages to the hunt: the first takes place in Mad City, the second in the Dwarfins sim and the third in The Lost Mine itself. The hunt HUD guides you easily through each stage but you can also find a detailed guide and introduction on the MadPea website here.

I don’t want to give away too many spoilers for the hunt because one of the pleasures for me in taking part in MadPea events are the surprises you encounter along the way. But, if you do get stuck, the MadPea group is a fun, friendly and free-to-join group that is full of people happy to help a lost adventurer.

Mine Entrance
Mine Entrance

Another thing that stands out for me with this hunt is the quality of the builds – everything looks amazing which is why I ended up getting so snap-happy! I have enhanced my photos slightly (because I pretty much always do!) but I took everything in the official viewer (on ultra) using the region environment settings and the raw shots don’t actually look that much different from what you see here.

Inside the Mine
Inside the Mine

The avatar I’m wearing is one of four available to purchase for this hunt (2 Dwarfins and 2 Peas), they are completely optional but a lot of fun to use. The Pea version includes a backpack that you can add tools to by playing the coordinating Gacha in Mad City – there are 5 tools to collect: binoculars, helmet, lantern, shovel and sledgehammer.

Deeper Inside
Deeper Inside

My little companion you can see pictured here is one of four available clue-finders.. again, it’s perfectly possible to complete the hunt without one, but I definitely found the first two stages less frustrating with my mini-me chatterbox tagging along. He wasn’t of any use in the mine itself but I so enjoyed watching his cute little feet try to keep up with me that I kept him rezzed.

A Beautiful Vista
A Beautiful Vista

After picking up my loot I hopped back to the mine’s entrance to admire the view once more before heading home to unpack my lovely boxes.

The Treasure's All Mine!
The Treasure’s All Mine!

These are only a handful of the prizes that await you on completion of The Lost Mine – there are over 20 in total including clothing, accessories, decor and more. You can see further prize previews here if you are so inclined.

The Lost Mine hunt will end on April 30th but, honestly, even if you haven’t started yet, you still have plenty of time to complete it – it’s a fairly short hunt that you can easily get through in one sitting or return to as and when you have some free time.

If you do decide to play, I hope you enjoy it as much as I have and keep an eye out for more fabulous MadPea events!

Love and stuff,

Credits

Wearing
Avatar: ‘Brave Pea‘ – MadPeaL$200*
Accessories: ‘Pea Avatar Attachments‘ – MadPeaL$25 per play (Gacha)*
Companion: ‘Pea Clue Finder‘ – MadPeaL$150*

Treasure
Building: ‘Mine Shack‘ – Never Totally Dead
Map: ‘The Professor’s Map‘ – Collage
Chest: ‘Treasure‘ – Elephante Poses
Gold: ‘The Lost Mines’ Golden Treasure‘ – Wimey
Barrel/Tools: ‘Mining Decor‘ – Alouette

Start Location
Mad City

(*review copies)

Leave a Reply

