Stand4Love 2014

Stand4Love - Chiana Oh

Stand4Love is a fabulous campaign founded by RicoRacer Flux & Editorial Clarity.

Their mission statement:
“Our goal is to spread awareness that two consenting adults should have the right to love and marry regardless of their race or sexual orientation. If we can open someone’s mind and promote tolerance and equality, then our goal has been achieved.”
Read more, including details on how to get involved, on their blog.

Equality in love, indeed in all things, is something I believe very strongly in and it is my absolute pleasure to once again show my support and hopefully spread the word.

I can never talk about matters of equality without pausing to appreciate how incredibly fortunate I am.. I’m white, I identify with my birth-gender and, although I finally realised in my late 20s that I’m definitely bi-sexual, my few rl relationships have all been with men and therefore have always been deemed ‘socially acceptable.’ That doesn’t mean I’ve never been the target of prejudice but I’m well aware how much of it I escape compared to others.

And it’s because of, rather than in spite of, my ‘acceptable-ness’ (or whatever you want to call it) that I want to add my voice to campaigns such as this one. A few months ago one of my favourite webcomics, Robot Hugs, published ‘Privilege‘ and it explains what I mean much better than I ever could – I encourage you to take the short hop over to read the post, because it’s full of awesome, but the bit I really want to highlight here is this:

“Because social power dynamics have made my voice more important than others, I will use that voice for good.”

I think it’s crucial that I do, that we all do.. that we speak up for ourselves and others regardless of our own backgrounds, orientation, race, gender or any other part of that fantastic rainbow spectrum that makes us who we are. That we listen to those that need us to listen, that we treat every single person with equality, respect and love.

Especially love.

I also made a couple of gifts.. visit my store blog for your taxi!

Stand4Love Gifts

2 thoughts on “Stand4Love 2014

Leave a Reply

